Letter from the Director



As the 2009 issue of the *Journal of Texas Music History* goes to press, the Center for Texas Music History is preparing to celebrate its tenth anniversary. In less than a decade, the Center has launched an impressive number of programs designed to promote the preservation and study of our state's rich and unique musical heritage. The Center has been recognized for its innovative work

by such prestigious organizations as The Smithsonian Institution, PBS, National Public Radio, The Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, The National Endowment for the Humanities, *Billboard* magazine, *The Los Angeles Times*, and others.

Through Texas State University's History Department and School of Music, the Center offers a variety of graduate and undergraduate courses on Texas music history. In collaboration with Texas A&M University Press, the Center also produces the acclaimed book series, the *John and Robin Dickson Series in Texas Music*. The Center is currently developing the *Texas Music History Online* web site, which will serve as a classroom teaching tool, a research database, and an information resource designed to promote Texas music heritage tourism.

The Center co-produces the very popular NPR series, *This Week in Texas Music History*, which can now be heard on radio stations throughout the Southwest. In addition, the Center launched a new PBS television series, *Texas Music Café*, in January 2009. The Center is once again collaborating with the Texas State Historical Association to produce a revised and updated edition of the highly successful *Handbook of Texas Music*. These are only a few of the many educational initiatives undertaken by the Center for Texas Music History over the past ten years.

We would like to thank everyone who has helped make the Center such a success, especially the following: Gregg Andrews & Vikki Bynum, Dee Lannon, Kevin Mooney, Vincent Messina, Lori Lopez, the Center's Advisory Board, Frank de la Teja, the Texas State University History Department, Denise Trauth & John Huffman, Perry & Marianne Moore, Gene Bourgeois, Ann Marie Ellis, Diana Harrell, César Limón, Vicki Clarke, John & Robin Dickson, Kent Finlay, Rod Kennedy, Paul Paynter, Kim & Robert Richey, Patti Harrison, Teresa Ward, Richard Cheatham, Liz McDonald, Lanita Hanson, Francine Hartman, Jim & Cathey Moore, Rick & Laurie Baish, Nell Hesson, Lucky & Becky Tomblin, Denise Boudreaux, Jo & Paul Snider, Darrell & Barbara Piersol, Phil & Cecilia Collins, Ralph & Patti Dowling, Dennis & Margaret Dunn, Ron & Judy Brown, Grant Mazak, Cathy Supple, Sharon Sandomirsky & Chris Ellison, Byron & Rebecca Augustin, John Kunz, Bill Musser, Lee & Judy Keller, Ronda Reagan, Glenn & Donna Joy, Billy Seidel, and all of our other friends and supporters.

To learn more about the Center and its unique and exciting programs, please contact us or visit our web site.

Thanks, and best wishes.

Dr. Gary Hartman, Director

Center for Texas Music History History Department Texas State University San Marcos, TX 78666 U.S.A. 512.245.3749 gh08@txstate.edu www.txstate.edu/ctmh





Center for Texas Music History

Director Gary Hartman

Assistant Director Gregg Andrews

Director of Programs Deirdre Lannon

The Journal of Texas Music History

Editors

Gary Hartman Gregg Andrews

Art Director César Limón

Graphic Designers Amanda Silva

Contributors Ruth Sullivan

Joe Specht

Reviews Kevin Mooney

John Wheat

The Journal of Texas Music History is published annually by the Center for Texas Music History at Texas State University-San Marcos. The contents of this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the university.

Subscription: There is no charge to receive the Journal. Simply contact the Center for Texas Music History to be placed on our mailing list.

Article Submissions: Please submit manuscripts by e-mail in Microsoft Word, Chicago Style, to gh08@txstate.edu or mail to Journal of Texas Music History, Department of History, Texas State University-San Marcos, 601 University Drive, San Marcos, TX 78666.

© 2001 Center for Texas Music History, Texas State University-San Marcos

ISSN 1535-7104

A member of The Texas State University System

The Texas State University System

Ron Blatchley, Chairman, Bryan | College Station

Trisha S. Pollard, Vice Chairman, Bellaire

Charlie Amato, San Antonio

Kevin J. Lilly, Houston

Ron Mitchell, Horseshoe Bay

David Montagne, Beaumont

Michael Truncale, Beaumont

Greg Wilkinson, Dallas

Donna N. Williams, Arlington

William Clayton Patterson,

Sidderii Regerii, Sarrividico

Charles R. Matthews, Chancellor, Austin



contents

8 Tary Owens, Texas Folklorist and Musician:

A Life Remembered

Ruth K. Sullivan

"Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes":

Slim Willet's Idiosyncratic Chart-Topper Lives On

Joe W. Specht

Reviews

43

48 A Deeper Blue:

The Life And Music of Townes Van Zandt

John Wheat

49 Texas Blues:

The Rise of a Contemporary Sound

Kevin Mooney

Submissions Review Board

John Dempsey

The University of North Texas, Denton

Craig D. Hillis

The University of Texas, Austin

Bill C. Malone

Madison, WI

Karl Hagstrom Miller,

New York University, New York

Kevin Edward Mooney,

Texas State University-San Marcos

Edward D. Oliphant,

The University of Texas, Austin

Jerry Rodnitzky,

The University of Texas, Arlington

Guadalupe San Miguel, Jr.,

The University of Houston, Houston

Joe Specht

McMurry University, Abilene

Roger Wood

Houston Community College System, Houston

The Center for Texas Music History Board of Advisors

Marcia Ball Craig Barker Elizabeth Pittman Ralph Dowling Tommy Foote Tom Frost III Rod Kennedy Casey Monahan Joe Nick Patoski Guadalupe San Miguel, Jr.

Lucky Tomblin