The History and Works of Bach, Mozart, and Bruch




Stevens, Mae

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title



This paper will examine the history and biographies of some of the most influential composers of all time: Bach, Mozart, and Bruch. Not only with the classical literature they wrote, but violin literature specifically and how these pieces were important to their careers as a whole, these pieces being: Bach’s Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, second movement, Mozart’s Violin Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 454, and Bruch’s Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, first movement. In addition, this research seeks to focus on the musical periods and what made them distinct from one another in both technique and style, and how the violin technique and instrument itself changed and developed over time. Lastly, the overall basic structures of the pieces themselves and how they differ from period to period will be analyzed. Beginning in the Baroque era to the Romantic era, this paper will explore the contributions and influence that these three composers have made on the periods they were in and how their works are significant still today. They will forever have an impact not just on the classical world, but on multiple genres and instruments.



Bach, Mozart, Bruch, romantic, classical, Baroque, era, period, violin, technique, bow, development, concerto, sonata, Honors College


Stevens, M. Z. (2022). The history and works of Bach, Mozart, and Bruch (Unpublished thesis). Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas.


Rights Holder

Rights License

Rights URI