The German Composer Louis Spohr (1784-1859): His Life and Work, an Overview of His Clarinet Music, and an Analytical Approach to the Sechs Deutsche Lieder for Clarinet, Voice, and Piano




Vogler, Stephanie Lynnette

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title



Although Ludwig Spohr – with an opus list of more than 150 – enjoyed much fame during his lifetime, his works for clarinet, besides his four widely-known clarinet concertos, now receive little attention, though they are high-quality compositions. Some of Spohr’s works for the clarinet are essentially violin music, but he understood the possibilities and limitations of the instrument due to an acquaintance with a talented clarinetist (Simon Hermstedt). Thus, many of his works involving the clarinet are suited especially for the clarinet and are wonderful recital pieces. This paper will provide an analytical approach to Spohr’s Sechs Deutsche Lieder, op. 103.



German composers, Spohr, Louis, 1784-1859, Honors College


Vogler, S. L. (2009). The German composer Louis Spohr (1784-1859): His life and work, an overview of his clarinet music, and an analytical approach to the Sechs Deutsche Lieder for clarinet, voice, and piano (Unpublished thesis). Texas State University-San Marcos, San Marcos, Texas.


Rights Holder

Rights License

Rights URI